Book of Rhapsodies

  • 1 Charlie's Prelude (L. Singer)
  • 2 Beethoven Riffs On (C. Shavers)
  • 3 Volcanic (Eruption for Orchestra) (R. Foresythe)
  • 4 Dance Man Buys A Farm (A. Wilder)
  • 5 At An Arabian House Party (R. Scott)
  • 6 It's Silk, Feel It! (A. Wilder)
  • 7 Dawn on the Desert (C. Shavers)
  • 8 The Happy Farmer (R. Scott)
  • 9 Revolt of the Yes Men (R. Foresythe)
  • 10 The Children Met The Train (A. Wilder)
  • 11 Her Old Man Was (At Times) Suspicious (A. Wilder)
  • 12 Celebration on the Planet Mars (R. Scott)

News & Reviews

Book of Rhapsodies Named Among Best of 2013

26th December 2013

"Carpenter is on a mission to make 21st Century listeners aware of just how much awesome music was being made in the early decades of the 20th by rooting out obscurities and tweaking the arrangements until they pop like fireworks." - Phil Freeman, Burning Ambulance

Read the full article here.


CD Release Show Oct 26 with The Raymond Scott Orchestrette

2nd October 2013

Book of Rhapsodies is here and we've lined up an incredible CD release show on Saturday October 26th at Subculture in NYC. Guitarist Avi Bortnick (John Scofield) and bassist Michael Bates join the core orchestra for a set of Brian Carpenter's rollercoaster reimaginings of strange and beautiful chamber jazz from 1935-1942. Don't miss this incredible show with special guests. Tickets available here.


Kickstarter Project a SUCCESS

5th April 2013

Our Kickstarter project was funded on 11/29/12. Kickstarter listed us as their Project of the Day that month. Thanks to all who supported this exciting project. You can find the below video and all latest updates here.


About This Album

Book of Rhapsodies is an ambitious concept album of reimaginings of the work of four composers from 1935-1942 whose work straddled the line between jazz and classical music: Alec Wilder, Charlie Shavers, Reginald Foresythe, and Raymond Scott. Their music was unclassifiable, strange, beautiful, adventurous, and innovative. The album features the 12-member Ghost Train Orchestra plus a 6-member choir.




Brian Carpenter, trumpet, slide trumpet, voice
Dennis Lichtman, clarinet
Andy Laster, alto saxophone, flute
Petr Cancura, tenor saxophone, clarinet
Curtis Hasselbring, trombone
Ron Caswell, tuba
Mazz Swift, violin
Tanya Kalmanovitch, viola
Avi Bortnick, guitar
Michael Bates, double bass
Rob Garcia, drums

Matt Samolis, flute on "Revolt of the Yes Men" and "The Children Met The Train"
Brandon Seabrook, banjo on "The Happy Farmer"

Yolanda Scott, soprano
Katie Seiler, mezzo-soprano
Mazz Swift, alto
Tomas Cruz, tenor
Brian Carpenter, baritone
Joe Chappel, bass

Production Credits

Produced by Brian Carpenter and Danny Blume
Recorded April 2012 by Danny Blume and Andy Taub at Brooklyn Recording Studios, Brooklyn NY
Choir recorded January 2013 by Bryce Goggin at Trout Recording Studios, Brooklyn NY
Additional recordings by Rafi Sofer at Q Division Studios, Somerville MA
Assistant Engineer: Rick Kwan
Mixed February-May 2013 by Danny Blume and Brian Carpenter
Cover artwork: Noah Woods
Design and layout: Lure Design
Liner notes: Brian Carpenter